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Utah’s registration

compliance can be

improved without

replating.

Digest of
A Performance Audit of 

Unregistered Passenger Vehicles in Utah

Utah loses as much as $7.3 million each year to improperly registered

motor vehicles.  This figure includes $4.5 million for vehicles that have

avoided registration fees and taxes for at least one year, and $2.8 million

for vehicles that should be registered in Utah but are inappropriately

registered in other states.

Registration compliance can, however, be improved with minor

cosmetic license plate changes, increased enforcement, and increased

penalties/fines for noncompliance.  Other compliance strategies, such as

replating, are available but have greater costs and do not appear to be any

more effective.  Further, without increased enforcement, there is no

strategy that brings vehicles improperly registered out-of-state into

compliance.

Motor vehicle registration fees and taxes on the 1.5 million passenger

vehicles in Utah contribute to the cost of maintaining Utah’s roads.  In

addition, vehicle registration helps protect vehicle owners and assists the

law enforcement community.

Motor vehicle registration evasion is not unique to Utah; it is a

national problem.  Many states are attempting to gain greater vehicle

registration compliance through greater enforcement efforts while others,

Utah included, have altered their taxing structures.  We believe that

Utah’s new tax structure makes it much less favorable to register out-of-

state since Utah fees are now similar to those in many of the surrounding

states.

In recent years, a complete license plate reissue has been proposed by

an interest group that sells license plate production systems and the

reflective sheeting for license plates.  A complete license plate reissue does

not appear warranted in Utah’s situation, given the low percentage of

vehicles that would be brought into compliance, the program’s high cost,

and the additional inconvenience to Utah’s residents.  The replating

program would cost $8 million but could only recover, at most, $4.5

million if all unregistered in-state vehicles were brought into compliance.

Replating would not help bring illegally registered, out-of-state vehicles

into compliance.
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Chapter II - Lapsed

vehicle registrations

can be addressed

without replating.

Sum mary of 

Chapter II

Recommendations

Chapter III - Utah

vehicles registered

in other states is a

problem that can be

addressed.

Sum mary of 

Chapter III

Recommendations

Following the introduction in Chapter I, this report contains two

chapters that are summarized below.

Lapsed Vehicle Registrations Can Be Addressed

Our sample found that few Utah vehicles are improperly registered. 

Approximately 1 percent of Utah vehicles have not been registered for one

year or longer and an additional 2.7 percent may be registered but the lack

of information makes their registration questionable.  This is a problem of

identification and enforcement that can be addressed with minor license

plate appearance changes and improved enforcement.

We recommend that the Legislature consider eliminating vehicle to

vehicle license plate transfer for plates that are no longer issued,

eliminate the requirement for county stickers, review fines and

penalties for late renewals, and add statutory language to require proof

of registration as a prerequisite to paying the fine.

We recommend that UHP follow their policy of citing vehicles with

expired registrations.

Utah Vehicles Registered in Other States Is a Problem

Identifying vehicles that have intentionally been registered in another

state to avoid Utah’s registration fees and taxes is a difficult task.  This

task is made more difficult by the fact that most out-of-state registrations

are appropriate.  Enforcement efforts are paramount but appear hindered

by unclear language in the Utah Code, the need for procedural changes,

and reluctance to fully enforce by  law enforcement.

We recommend the Legislature consider clarifying and simplifying the

registration laws and review the enforcement of Utah residents illegally

registering their cars out-of-state.

We recommend that UHP train their officers how to detect illegally

registered vehicles and how to appropriately cite them.

We recommend that the Courts review data input processes and ensure 

that information systems programs allow similar but different codes to

be entered under unique code numbers, and train staff to key the full

citation code including subsections.
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Utah’s registration

compliance can be

improved without re-

plating.

Chapter I
Introduction

We estimate that Utah loses as much as $4.5 million each year to

improper motor vehicle registrations.  Utah’s vehicle registration program

can be improved with minor cosmetic license plate changes, more

enforcement, and higher penalties/fines for noncompliance.  In recent

years, a complete license plate reissue has been proposed by an interest

group that sells license plate production systems and the reflective

sheeting for license plates.  A complete license plate reissue does not

appear warranted in Utah’s situation, given the low percentage of vehicles

that would be brought into compliance, the $8 million cost to replate, and

the additional inconvenience to Utah’s residents.

Utah may also lose an additional $2.8 million with vehicles illegally

registered out-of-state.  Increased law enforcement actions will be

required to bring these vehicles into compliance, but replating vehicles

registered in Utah will not help bring vehicles registered out-of-state into

compliance with registration laws.

This study estimates the extent of registration evasion and the

associated tax evasion that comes from not registering a vehicle.  These

evasions shift the financial burden of maintaining public roads and

services to Utah’s law-abiding population.  This study focuses on

passenger vehicles and light trucks, it does not cover heavy trucks.

Registration Is Necessary

Vehicle registration helps protect consumers, assists the law

enforcement community, and serves as a source of revenue to support

program costs and costs of other state agencies.  Utah has approximately

1.5 million registered passenger vehicles and light trucks.  Vehicle

registration activities serve as a significant source of general state revenue. 

For fiscal year 2000-01, the program collected $26 million in registration

fees and $17.3 million for the Centennial Highway Fund.  In addition,

the program serves as the collection mechanism for uniform fees and sales

taxes.  In Calendar Year 1999, the program collected $150 million in

uniform fees.
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Utah, like most states, requires an annual vehicle registration.  

The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in the Utah Tax Commission

issues titles and registers vehicles.  Utah registers vehicles on a calendar

year basis based on the month that the vehicle was purchased.  License

plates issued, as part of the vehicle registration process, are intended to

authorize use of the vehicles on the state’s roads, while helping the law

enforcement community and others identify particular vehicles.  License

plates and current decals identify that the vehicle owner has paid required

taxes.

Utah has five types of license plates—Black-and-White, Ski Utah,

Centennial, Olympic, and Specialty.  All specialty plates have the same

layout with a decal on the left and a descriptive name on bottom of the

plate.  Figure 1 shows the percentage of active license plates by category.  

Figure 1.  Percentage of Active License Plates in Utah by Category

and Date Issue Began.  96 percent of all plates are standard issue
and only four percent are personalized or specialty  plates.

Category 

of Plate

Percentage of

Plates

First Year 

of Issue

Standard-issue Plates:

Ski Utah    47.7% 1985

Centennial 44.5 1992

Black & W hite   1.5 1973

Olympic      2.4% 1998

Special Plates:

Personalized *     2.1  

Specialty **   1.9

   Total      100% 

  * Th is ca tegory  does no t have its own  shee ting  bu t is a  pe rsona lized pla te o f all o the r ca tegorie s.  

** Plates with special decal such as Collegiate, Wildlife, and Veterans.
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Vehicle sales and

resales result in

approximately one-

third of Utah plates

being replaced each

year.

Figure 1 identifies that 96 percent of all plates are standard issue and

only four percent are personalized or specialty plates.

Vehicle sales and resales result in new registrations and new plates on

vehicles.  Utah Correctional Industries produces and sells license plates to

DMV reported that they sold 687,100 new pairs of plates to DMV each

of the past two years.  DMV reports that approximately 500,000 of these

plates are for passenger vehicles.  Since there are 1.5 million passenger

vehicles in the state, one-third of Utah plates are being replaced each year. 

Vehicle turnover results in most plates retiring after a few years, so Utah

has substantially new plates every few years.

Utah had a complete reissue of plates in 1973 when all vehicle owners

were required to get the new black and white plates.  Since then, Utah has

phased in plates with new designs such as the Ski Utah and the Centennial

plates.  Utahns’ choices in plates have increased since 1978.  Figure 2

shows the changes in license plates from 1978 to 2001.
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Figure 2.  Changes In Utah License Plates 1978 - 2001.  The type
of plates, the variety of sheeting, and the various types of decals
have increased from 1978 to 2001.

Category   1978 2001             

Types of

Registration

Passenger

Truck

Trailer

           

Passenger vehicles & light trucks

Heavy trucks

Trailer

W atercraft

Off Highway Vehicle

Snowmobile

Original Issue

Sheeting Black &

W hite

Black & White 

Ski Utah

Centennial

Olympic

Specialty * (37 different decals

available)

*Types of decals

for specialty plates 

None Legislative

Pearl Harbor

Purple Heart

Disabled

Special Interest

Amateur Radio

Firefighter

Parks & Rec.

Agriculture/Food

Children’s Museum

W ildlife - 3 types

Higher Ed - 9 types

Veterans - 6 types

Spay & Neuter

Congress

POW

National Guard

Vintage

Farm Truck

EMT

Clean Fuel

Boy Scouts

Sizes Vehicle

Motorcycle

Vehicle

Motorcycle

Figure 2 shows that DMV has accommodated the public’s request for

a variety of plates.  In this process, license plates have become state

tourism billboards and recognition for special organizations and

associations.  Some plates produce revenue for the organization named on

the plate.

As part of the registration process, older vehicles are required to

undergo safety inspections every year and newer vehicles require an

inspection every other year.  Vehicles in four of Utah’s counties (Davis,
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Salt Lake, Utah, and Weber) are also required to have emission

inspections performed every year as part of each county’s air quality

program.  Emissions and inspection requirements were the subject of an

audit performed by the Legislative Auditor General’s Office (See Utah’s

Safety and Emission Testing of Newer Vehicles #ILR 2001-G).

Improper Registration Is a 
National Problem

Many states struggle with the problem of improper vehicle

registration.  There are two primary types of evasion:  First, vehicles that

are registered but their registration has expired; and second, vehicles that

are illegally registered in other states to avoid higher taxes and fees in their

home state.  In addition, some evade registration by using plates or decals

not assigned to that vehicle.  There is no standardized way to measure the

unregistered motor vehicle rate.  Reports across the nation show a wide

disparity in the percentage of illegally registered vehicles, but none have

solved the evasion problem.

Several reports have been done by groups trying to quantify the

evasion problem.  One study of various states showed that between 0.1

percent and 10 percent of vehicles appeared to be illegally registered. 

Most independent studies from other states fall within this range.  Utah’s

estimate of 3.8 percent is at the low end of this range.  The results of these

various studies may not be completely comparable because of the different

methodologies used in the studies.  Figure 3 shows registration fee levels

in the western states.
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Most states are

working to gain

greater registration

compliance.

Figure 3.  Annual Registration Costs in Western States.  The
cost to register a vehicle varies by state.  In addition, some states
charge property and sales taxes on vehicles, while others do not.

State        

Annual

Registration 

Fee

Property

Tax on

Vehicle

Sales 

Tax on

Vehicle

Arizona $ 8.25 Yes Yes

California  30.00 Yes Yes

Colorado  24.00 Yes Yes

Idaho  48.00 No Yes

Montana  10.25 Yes No

Nevada  33.00 Yes Yes

Oregon  15.00* No No

Utah  24.50 Yes Yes

W ashington  27.85 No Yes

W yoming  15.00 Yes Yes

* Vehicles in Oregon are registered for a two-year period and the fee is $30 for two yea rs.

Registration costs alone are not the only reason some people evade

registration.  The fee-in-lieu of property tax, emission and/or inspection

costs, and insurance costs are all tied to vehicle registration.  Failure to

register also evades those costs.  Two states do not even charge sales tax;

therefore, they may provide an incentive for people to buy and register

vehicles out-of-state.

States are taking a variety of steps to increase compliance.  Several

states have changed their taxing structures.  For example, Washington has

recently eliminated the property tax on vehicles.  Some states are looking

at higher fines, penalties and re-plating.  California, one of the highest

taxing states, has not had a complete plate reissue since 1963 even though

several studies have been done by replating proponents showing the

proposed benefit of replating.
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Scope and Objectives

This audit is the result of a legislative request to review the problem

with illegally registered vehicles traveling Utah roads.  In addition to

reviewing Utah’s programs, we were directed to

1. Determine if Utah has a problem with vehicles that should be

registered in Utah but are registered in another state.

2. Determine how frequently other states change their motor vehicle

license plates.

3. Determine if a new plate design would benefit Utah by increasing

registration and making law enforcement of unregistered vehicles

easier.
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3.8 percent of all

owners fail to

properly register

their vehicles within

the registration year

or improperly

register their

vehicles.

9 percent of Utah

drivers don’t register

their vehicles on

time.  

Chapter II

Lapsed Vehicle Registrations

Can Be Addressed

Utah may lose as much as $4.5 million of registration and tax revenue

each year to owners who fail to properly register their vehicles.  This value

is derived from a survey that identifies:

• 1.1 percent of all sampled vehicles have not been registered for one

year or longer.

• 2.7 percent of all sampled vehicles were either inappropriately

registered or were not found in the DMV database.

Methods are available to identify unregistered vehicles and force

compliance, but these methods are only effective if enforcement becomes

a priority.  The proposed idea of a complete statewide plate reissue, by an

interest group, does not appear to be a good option for Utah as its $8

million cost is prohibitive and punitive to the entire population.

Registration Avoidance
Has Been Overstated

We estimate that 172,000 passenger cars and light trucks bearing Utah

plates have out-of-date registrations or are inappropriately registered. 

Although 8.7 percent (131,000 vehicles) of Utah’s vehicle registrations

were expired, only 1.1 percent of these vehicles (17,000 vehicles)

remained unregistered after one year.  Some Utahns are slow in

registering their vehicles, but they usually register their vehicles within the

year.  An additional 2.7 percent (41,000 vehicles) may be inappropriately

registered.  

The low figure (3.8 percent) for non-registered vehicles after one year

and inappropriately registered vehicles is significantly less than most

information presented in the past.  Indirect tests, such as Utah Highway

Patrol Citations, were used to estimate Utah’s unregistered vehicle

problem at 11 percent.  This estimate is significantly higher than we
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Only 1.1% of

vehicles remained

unregistered after

one year and

therefore avoid

paying taxes and

registration fees.

found in our study.  

Utah Has a Low Rate of Unregistered
Vehicles after One Year

Out-of-date registrations range from within the first month to one

year or longer in elapsed time.  Figure 4 shows, by time period, the

percentages of out-of-compliance vehicles found in Utah.

Figure 4.  Sample Identifies Unregistered Vehicles by Length of
Time Out-of-compliance.  While 8.7% of all vehicles were identified
as noncompliant, only 1.1% remain noncompliant for greater than
one year.

 Lapsed Time     Percentage of Total Cumulative Percentage

  1 month    4.0%    4.0%

  2 months 1.2 5.2

  3 months 0.5 5.7

  4 -5 months 0.7 6.5

  6 -11 months 1.1 7.6

  > 12 months 1.1 8.7

Figure 4 shows 8.7 percent or 131,000 vehicles of Utah’s 1.5 million

passenger cars and light trucks registered in Utah have out-of-date

registrations ranging from one month to more than one year in elapsed

time.  However, only 1.1 percent of vehicles (17,000 vehicles) remained

unregistered after one year.  There is an important distinction between

those owners who are slow in registering their vehicles, but register within

one year, and those who allow the registration to lapse.  The owners who

are slow in registering pay the taxes within the year so there is no tax

avoidance.  However, those owners that allow their registration to lapse

more than one year are avoiding the taxes and registration fees.

Inappropriately Registered Vehicles

Inappropriately registered vehicles (2.7 percent) include those vehicles

that did not match the vehicles the plate belonged to and vehicles that did

not show up in the DMV system.  A number of reasons could explain this
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Citation statistics

overestimate Utah’s

registration

problems.

group of vehicles.  First, audit and agency errors may have resulted in

some of these unidentifiable vehicles.  An auditor may have written down

the wrong license plate number or an incorrect description of the vehicle. 

Second, in the process of changing to the new database, some records may

have been lost in the transition or may still be in the process of being

input into the new system.  And, finally, it is also possible that these

vehicles were unregistered and were observed with stolen, forged, or

another vehicle’s license plates.  DMV’s new computer system which will

provide real-time registration and plate information should mitigate many

database errors that occurred under the old system.  When people register,

the DMV will have real-time accuracy.  Law enforcement databases will

then be updated the next day.

Previous Calculations Appear to Have   
Overestimated Utah’s Evasion Rate

A complete plate reissue has been proposed by a special interest group

as a solution to a problem that does not appear to be as large as presented. 

Utah Highway Patrol statistics and statistics from the uninsured database

have been used to estimate the evasion rate in Utah, but those numbers

may be overestimated.

Utah Highway Patrol (UHP) citation statistics show that in calendar

year 2000, UHP stopped 175,934 vehicles for all violations and wrote

20,596 citations and warnings for all types of registration violations. 

Some have made a simple calculation using these enforcement figures to

conclude that more than 11percent of vehicles in the state are not in

compliance with registration laws.  Even though UHP records show that

11 percent of all vehicles stopped had registration problems, this number

does not mean that taxes and registration fees went unpaid for that year;

nor does it mean that 11percent of all vehicles were in violation.

The 11 percent evasion number may be overstated because registration

citations and warnings are given for a variety of registration problems

beyond expired registration.  Citations are also given for driving without a

registration card, driving without a signed registration card, driving

without proper decals or driving with insufficient plates or decals. 

Multiple citations and warnings can be issued to the same vehicle.  For

example, a motorist was stopped for a registration violation twice within a

short period of time.  She told the trooper not to give her a citation for an

expired registration because she had already received a citation the
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Most motorists

comply with

registration laws

once they are cited

or warned by law

enforcement.

previous week and was working on getting the vehicle registered.

Some law enforcement personnel believe that people will comply with

registration requirements once they are cited or warned.  In fact, UHP

troopers regularly issue verbal and written warnings instead of citations as

a friendly reminder to residents to comply with the registration laws. 

Given Utah’s low non-compliance rate and the fact that most non-

compliant owners register within the year, the program may be having

some success.

UHP officers decide, on a case-by-case basis, whether to cite or warn a

motorist for a registration violation.  Figure 5 shows the number of

vehicles stopped and type of enforcement action taken.

Figure 5.  UHP Citations and Warnings Given for Registration
Violations in Calendar Year  2000.  UHP records show out-of-
compliance vehicles are being stopped but often are not cited for the
violation; possibly because vehicles are less than three months out-
of-compliance.

Type of Enforcement Action

Number of 

Citations

Percent of 

vehicles stopped

  Registration citations 12,831      7.3%

  Registration warnings   7,765   4.4

  Total Citations and Warnings 20,596 11.7

In over one-third of the stops, UHP gave registration warnings

instead of citations.  Although UHP policy directs officers to cite a

motorist for having an expired registration, some members of the UHP

have told us that their usual practice is to write a warning if a registration

has lapsed less than three months, if they feel the motorist will register the

car.  A citation review shows that some officers will not write citations

even though the registration is long overdue.

Another estimate of the evasion rate was presented to the Legislature

in 1997 by comparing the uninsured motorist database maintained by

Insure Rite, a private contractor to DMV records.  Using this

information, the Legislature was told that between 55,000 and 140,000 

cars had insurance in Utah but were not registered in the state.  Based on

the number of vehicles, and the taxes at the time, they estimated that



-13-Office of the Utah Legislative Auditor General – 13 –

Replating is cost

prohibitive and only

gains additional

compliance for first

year.

Cost of re-plating far

exceeds the

additional revenues

it generates.

between $2.5 million and $5 million was being lost in state revenues in

sales tax and registration fees and $20 million to $30 million in property

taxes.  These numbers were simply estimates and may be outdated due to

changes in the tax law and penalties for evasion.    

Options Are Available to
Increase Registration Compliance

Various options exist for increasing registration compliance.  Some

proponents believe that a complete license plate reissue is the best solution

and report that other states have increased their revenues with such an

action.  While a complete reissue is an option, it is an expensive option

that only gains increased compliance for one year.  Other less expensive

options exist such as plate phase-out and phase-in programs and

expanding the size of the date decals.  Phase-in programs have been done

in Utah for a number of years while increased decal size allows most of

the benefits as re-plating, at a fraction of the cost.

Re-plating Is an Expensive Option
  

It would cost approximately $8 million to do a complete reissue of

plates on all 1.5 million passenger vehicles in Utah.  This program has a

number of benefits, but its primary purpose would be to bring the 3.8

percent of unregistered/inappropriately registered vehicles into compliance

(1.1 percent expired more than one year + 2.7 percent inappropriately

registered).  If all these vehicles were brought into compliance, the state

would get a one-time collection of no more than $4.5 million from these

vehicles.

The total cost to re-plate Utah’s 1.5 million passenger vehicles would

be approximately $8 million.  This figure includes:

• $3.3 million in manufacturing costs for new plates - ($3.30 per

vehicle for the 1.0 million vehicles that would not have otherwise

needed plates during the re-plating year.)

• $1.1 million in mailing and handling costs - (Based on DMV

estimates assuming that current mail and internet renewals hold

constant.)

• $3.6 million administrative costs - (Software, system changes,
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Utah will have larger

decals for the 2003

registration year.

county and state personnel costs to process additional transactions

based on DMV estimates).

According to the President of Motor Vehicle License Systems, because

of the high cost of replating and the administrative work required to 

completely replate all vehicles, most states do just about anything to avoid

such a drastic move.  Even going through the major expense and work to

replate all vehicles registered in Utah will not address the problem of cars

illegally registered in other states, which we discuss in Chapter 3.

Proponents of replating believe that a complete replate where all

vehicles would have one new plate design would allow law enforcement

agencies to more easily identify unregistered vehicles.  Changing to one

plate appears to be a drastic measure whereas Utah has a variety of

different looking license plates, purposely phased in for public relations

and tourism promotions such as Ski Utah and Centennial plates. 

Although replating proponents say that replating would only apply to

standardized plates, not specialty plates, almost 96 percent of all plates are

standardized plates which means they would need to be replated.

Enlarging Decals May Be an Effective Option

Enlarged, more visible decals could provide a whole new look for a

fraction of the cost of replating and would assist law enforcement agencies

to more easily identify and cite unregistered vehicles.  Law enforcement

officials rely on a small decal located in a corner of the rear plate to

identify current registration.  Utah currently uses three decals to identify:

• County of registration

• Month of registration expiration

• Year of registration expiration

DMV is planning to go to larger month and year decals for the 2003

registration year.  The new month and year expiration decals will be

square (one and one quarter inch by one and one quarter inch), 79

percent increase from the current decals.  Law enforcement has requested

larger decals for some time and DMV was finally able to accommodate

this request.  The county decal will remain the same size.
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Further increases in the decals are possible by eliminating the county

decal.  Eliminating the county decal will allow more room for even larger

month and year decals; making them even more visible to law

enforcement.  Figure 6 shows the size of the current decal, the new decal

that will be used by DMV beginning in the 2003 registration year, and

the potential size of a decal if the county decal were eliminated.
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Figure 6.  Size of Current, New and Potential Decals.  Current
Decals:  Month, Year, and County Decals (Actual Size)

Year Month County

1.00" X 1.00 0.75" X 1.00" 1.00" X 1.00"

New Decals to Be Used Beginning in the 2003 Registration Year.

1.25" X 1.25" 1.25" X 1.25" 1.00" X 1.00"

Potential Decals.  Greater visibility is possible with the elimination of

the county decal.

1.75" X 1.25" 1.75" X 1.25"

Figure 6 shows that the current month and year decals are only 1.75

square inches.  The new decals, to be used by DMV beginning with the
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Uniform Tax system

makes county decal

obsolete.

Utah could phase

out old plates.

2003 registration year, will be 3.13 square inches or 79 percent larger

than the current decals.  By eliminating the county decal, the month and

year decals could be even larger—40 percent larger than the new DMV

decals and 150 percent larger than the current decals.

The size and number of decals varies by state.  Several states have the

larger month and year decals that we are proposing.  Some states have one

large decal with the expiration month and the year is designated by color,

which is what Utah had prior to 1993.

The original intent of the county decal was to identify vehicles by

county for tax purposes prior to the uniform system now used by Utah. 

Under the old system it was possible for individuals to shop counties for

the lowest vehicle valuation, thereby reducing taxes.  Some local law

enforcement still do, however, like the county decals.  Under the new

system, finding a better rate for taxation is not possible.  Only 16 of the

50 states currently have a county designation on their license plates.

Phasing Plates Out and In May Be More Appropriate

There are some old plates on the road that may not have the

reflectivity that is in new plates.  For example, the reflectivity on the old

black and white plates has long expired.  There are approximately 28,000

black and white plates (1.5 percent of all plates) on vehicles on the road. 

Phasing old plates out would solve the problem of having old plates on

vehicles.  A plate phase-out program may be implemented for very old

plate issues because the protective sheeting is only effective for a limited

amount of time, 8 -10 years according to the President of Motor Vehicle

License Systems.

Utah laws allow people to transfer a license plate to a new purchase,

thus keeping the old plates in the system.  Changing Utah law to not

allow transferring of plates that are no longer issued would accelerate the

phasing out of old, unsafe plates.

Another reason to replate is to accommodate the vehicle population. 

Utah currently has three numeric and three alphabetic combinations on

each plate.  When these combinations have nearly been exhausted, a new

plate needs to be considered.  According to the director of DMV, Utah

uses approximately one alphabetic series per year and within four to five

years Utah will need to make plans for a new plate anyway.
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Few  vehicles are

impounded for

lapsed registration.

States that have adopted replating programs may need to  change

plates every three to five years because the owners that are more than one

year out of compliance need to be recaptured periodically.  Replating

proponents claim that a new plate allows law enforcement agencies to

more easily identify unregistered vehicles.  Some states, such as Nebraska,

Indiana, and Florida, have specific legislation requiring plates to be issued

on a cycle of three to five years.  According to the president of Motor

Vehicle License Systems, a California corporation that develops, designs

and manufactures custom license plates, a more realistic approach would

be to issue plates every eight to ten years, the time period for which the

reflective property of the plates remain effective.

Penalties and Enforcement
May Not Be Effective

Regardless of changes in license plate appearance, noncompliant

vehicles still need to be stopped, cited, and made to comply to reduce

registration avoidance.  However, the likelihood of being stopped is low,

and if stopped, the enforcement action and fine levels may not be

sufficient to guarantee that the vehicle will then be registered.  This

problem is further compounded by court actions that frequently reduce

the penalties.  In addition, Utah law does not require registration proof in

order to pay the fine.  Some vehicle owners may choose to simply pay the

lower penalty rather than the higher registration fees and taxes.

Registration Enforcement Efforts Are Limited

Registration violations have not been given a high priority by UHP

because they are non-moving violations.  UHP focuses on moving

violations because of the impact on public safety.  As time permits, the

UHP and the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (MVED) in the Utah

Tax Commission cite or warn motorists for expired or improper

registration.

The amount charged for expired registration citations also varies

among western states.  Figure 7 shows that Utah’s fines are less than the

other western states.
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Figure 7.  Western States Expired Registration Fines.  Fines vary
widely between states as does judicial latitude in reducing fine
amounts.

State Fine

FINE REDUCED

(With Proof of Registration)

Arizona $  90  Judge’s discretion

California 135 10

Colorado * 35 - 75 No Reduction

Idaho   43 No Reduction

Montana   45 Judge’s discretion

Nevada ** 65 - 125 45 to 65

Oregon   77 0

W ashington *** 86 - 171 Judge’s discretion

W yoming   60 30

UTAH   40 Court’s discretion

   * Expired less than 30 days fine is $35, between 30 and 60 days fine is $50, more than 60 days, f ine   

    is $75.

 ** Less than one year f ine is $65, more than one year is $125.

 *** Expired two months or less $86, more than two months, f ine is $171.

Figure 7 shows that Utah’s fines are lower than most western states.  

It also shows that some states have progressively more expensive fines

based on time out of compliance.  In contrast, Utah’s fine is set at $40

regardless of the amount of time the vehicle has been out of compliance.

Although we were not able to review the practices of the 139 justice

courts in the state, we found that one justice court has authorized their

clerks to suspend $20 of the $40 fine if the vehicle owner brings the

vehicle into compliance.  Other courts waive the entire fine if proof of

registration is shown.

When law enforcement personnel issue a citation for expired

registration, the fine is $40.  Some courts and judges suspend all or a

portion of the fine if the vehicle owner registers the vehicle and provides

evidence to the court that the vehicle registration is current.  Figure 8 
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shows the number of expired Utah registration citations filed with the

statewide Utah District Court.

Figure 8.  Utah District Courts Final Disposition of Expired
Registration Cases.  In nearly half of all expired registration cases,
courts suspend all or a portion of fines.

Year Sentenced

Suspended

(All or a Portion)

Percent of Cases

Suspended

1999 1,148 517    45%

2000 1,017 463 46

Figure 8 shows that District Courts suspend at least a portion of the

fine in nearly half the cases of registration violations.  Discussions with

some Justice Court staff showed that courts suspend a portion or

sometimes all of the penalty with proof of  registration.

Utah Code 41-1a-1102(1) allows officers to impound a vehicle with

registration that has been expired for more than three months.  In

addition, UHP policy requires an officer to impound a vehicle with a

flagrant registration violation which is defined as expired in excess of four

months.  However, we did not see that this enforcement tool was used

very often.

Impounding a vehicle is at the officer’s discretion.  Several officers we

talked to have a difficult time impounding vehicles because of the grave

consequences to an individual or family.  One officer stated he was

reprimanded for impounding a vehicle driven by a woman with several

children in the car.  Officers have the authority to impound but choose

not to because of the public relations problems that can be created.

Administrative Late Fees Can Be Imposed

Late registrations cost Utah $100,000 each year in lost interest

revenue.  Utah does not impose a fee for a late registration renewal.  In

contrast, some other western states do assess penalties and fines for

registering late.  Figure 9 shows the differences among western states.
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Figure 9.  Late registration Fees in Western States.  Three of ten
western states penalize vehicle owners for late registrations.

State  Fees for Filing Late Registration

Arizona Less than 1 month late, $8

1 month late or later, $8 + $4 for each additional month.

California 1-10 days late, 10% of the fees due for that year.

11-30 days late, 20% of the fees due for that year.

31 days to 1 year late, 60% of the fees due for that year. 

1 year to 2 years - 80% of the fees due for that year. 

More than 2 years, 160% of the fees due for that year. 

Colorado None

Idaho None

Montana None

Nevada* 1-15 days late, $12.00

16-30 days late, $14.75

31 to 45 days late, $20.75

46 to 60 days late, $28.00

<1 year late, $137.00 

Oregon None

Utah None

W ashington None

W yoming None

* In Nevada, the late fee is based on a complex formula.  These figures are based on a 1993 vehicle      

 worth $10,000.

Figure 9 shows states with higher registration costs attach additional

fees to penalize late registration.  States with low registration fees, on the

other hand, do not appear to have late fees.  Since there is no late penalty

assessed in Utah, the DMV does not track unregistered vehicles.

Compliance then becomes a question of effective enforcement through

citations for the noncompliance.

Recommendations:

1. We recommend that the Legislature consider eliminating vehicle to

vehicle license plate transfers of plates that are no longer issued.
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2. We recommend the Legislature consider eliminating the county

designation requirement to allow more space for month and year

decals.

3. We recommend that DMV issue larger month and year decals to

make the decals more visible to law enforcement.

4. We recommend that the Legislature review fines and penalties for

late renewals.

5. We recommend that the UHP follow their policy of citing vehicles

with expired registrations.

6. We recommend that the Legislature add statutory language to

require proof of registration as a prerequisite to paying the fine.



-23-Office of the Utah Legislative Auditor General – 23 –

Chapter III
Utah Vehicles Registered in Other

States Is a Problem

Utah may be losing approximately $2.8 million each year to owners

inappropriately registering vehicles in other states.  The Utah Legislature

has enacted stringent penalties to deter Utah residents from registering

their vehicles out-of-state, but law enforcement and the courts do not use

this enforcement tool as enacted by the Legislature.

Most Out-of-state Registrations
 Appear Appropriate

There are legitimate reasons for being in Utah and having out-of-state

plates.  Utah law allows full-time military stationed in Utah and

nonresident, full-time students attending school in Utah to be exempt

from Utah registration laws.  In addition, tourists and recent migrants to

the state may drive with out-of-state plates.  Figure 10 shows an estimated

number of vehicles driving on Utah roads with out-of-state plates.

Figure 10.  Estimated number of vehicles on Utah roads with
out-of-state plates.  Most of the out-of-state plates seen in Utah are
on vehicles that are legally registered in other states.

Category *Number of Vehicles

Full time military personnel 35,000

Out-of-state students attending Utah

colleges

Tourists

Recent Migrants (less than 60 days)

Inappropriately Registered

21,000

15,000

  7,000

30,500

Total 108,500  

   *   For methodology see Appendix A.
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Enforcing out-of-

state violations is

difficult.

Age-based vehicle

tax system has

greatly reduced non-

compliance problem.

Figure 10 demonstrates why it is difficult to identify inappropriately

registered vehicles.  On any given day there are 108,500 vehicles with out-

of-state license plates on Utah’s roads.  As many as 25 percent of these

may be illegally registered in another state but cannot be easily

differentiated from legally registered vehicles.

In addition, many consider that there are degrees of inappropriately

registered out-of-state vehicles.  Recent migrants into the state can legally

drive for a short period of time using their appropriately registered out-of-

state plates.  Utah Code 41-1a-202 (3) requires people to register their

vehicles within 60 days of establishing Utah residency.  Some new

residents are complying with Utah law while others are waiting until the

other states’ registration lapses.  We believe most of these vehicles will

come into compliance in less than one year.

DMV staff think that this law may not be well understood by new

residents, or new residents may be reluctant to pay the fees until the

registration in their previous home state expires.  Although some people

think they can use the previous state’s plates until that registration expires,

that is false.  DMV has tried to get information out to new residents

about registration requirements, but they don’t have a solid process to do

so.

This confusion is furthered because law enforcement has a difficult

time determining when residency begins in the state.  Officers can have a

difficult time establishing the date of residency when they stop a vehicle

with out-of-state plates.  The officers go through a series of questions to

determine if the driver is a resident of the state and if the vehicle should be

registered in the state.

Utah Residents Unlawfully Register in 
Other States for a Variety of Reasons

We estimate that 30,500 Utah vehicles are inappropriately registered

in other states.  As stated above, some of these vehicles lack Utah

registration because people new to the state have not registered in Utah

within the 60-day limit, while others inappropriately register their vehicles

in other states because the tax laws may be more attractive and there are

no emissions and safety inspection requirements.
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Utah’s vehicle fees

and taxes are near

average for western

states.

In 1999, vehicle property taxes charged in Utah were changed from a

value-based tax to an age-based system.  The highest amount of tax is now

only $150; whereas, prior to 1999 the tax was 1.5% of the value of the

vehicle.  For example, the owner of a $40,000 vehicle would have paid

$600 in taxes.  DMV and MVED employees believe the modification in

the tax structure has reduced the financial incentive to improperly register

a vehicle in other states.

Figure 11 shows that even with Utah’s new tax structure, there is still

the incentive to register in other states to avoid taxes.

Figure 11.  Cost Comparison of Vehicle Registration and
Property Taxes in Selected Western States.  Utah’s recent tax
restructuring has made the cost of registering in Utah competitive
with most western states.

1 Year Old 5 Years Old 10 Years Old

Colorado $385  $105  $  26  

W yoming 375 135 105

Arizona 336 171   70

Nevada 272 160   40

Montana 234 125   49

Utah 175 135   75

Idaho 58 to  68 58 to 68 58 to 68

W ashington 37 to 52 37 to 52 37 to 52

Oregon   30   30   30

* Assumes an original Manufactures Suggested Retail  Price of $20,000.

Figure 11 shows that Idaho, Washington and Oregon still have

registration fees and taxes that are less than in Utah.  While the taxing

level has become less of a reason to risk registering out-of-state, people are

still doing so.  It is possible that Utah’s safety and emission testing

programs are contributing to this delinquency.  Utah is one of the few

western states with a vehicle safety testing program.  In the case of some

older vehicles, Utah registration may not be viable to some owners.
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Past registration

program did not

succeed.

Number of Out-of-state Registrations Is Declining

The Utah Tax Commission believes that the number of people

registered in other states has decreased because of two changes.  First, in

1998, the tax law changed from a value-based tax to an age-based tax,

thereby lowering the tax on expensive vehicles.  Second, in 1997, the

penalty for getting caught registering in another state increased to $1,000,

thereby taking away the financial benefit of registering in another state.

These two changes may have had an effect on the number of owners

illegally registering their cars in another state.  For years Utah had

problems with people registering their vehicles in Oregon, but in our

recent vehicle survey only two Oregon plates were seen.  Some people

may  register in Oregon because Oregon only charges $30 every other

year to register a vehicle and there are no inspection or emission testing

requirements.  Most of the states surrounding Oregon had this same

problem with people registering their vehicles in Oregon.  Recently,

Oregon began a media campaign informing people not to register their

vehicles in Oregon unless they are residents.

While property tax reductions have eliminated some of the out-of-state

activity, sales taxes for major purchases continue to create problems. 

Washington has taken an aggressive approach to illegal registration and

has prosecuted some of their residents for illegally registering their

vehicles and motor homes in Oregon to avoid Washington sales taxes. 

Some of these cases have been highly publicized.

Register Now! Program Not as Useful as Envisioned

In 1997 there was an estimate that Utah was losing $18 million by

people registering their vehicles out-of-state.  Based on this data, the

Legislature passed a bill which increased the fine to $1,000 for a Utah

resident to illegally register a car out-of-state.  The Utah Code’s definition

of legal resident is detailed in Appendix B.

The Tax Commission implemented a program called Register Now!

with Insure Rite, a private contractor, that maintains the state’s uninsured

motorist database.  Once the law went into effect, Insure Rite sent

120,000 letters to people on their data base that appeared to have

insurance purchased in the state but did not appear to have a Utah

registration.  The recipients of the letters were asked to provide evidence
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Failure to use proper

citation codes has

reduced

enforcement efforts.

of Utah registration.  Most of the respondents were able to provide 

reasons why they did not need to register in the state and a few registered.

However, the majority of the people who received the letter did not

respond.

In 2001, another notification letter was initiated, this time to a smaller

group of people.  Insure-Rite has decided to discontinue the program.

Out-of-state Registrations 
Are Not Strongly Enforced

Although the Legislature imposed strict penalties for people

registering out-of-state, enforcement is difficult.  Officers do not fully

understand the law, do not understand the registration citation codes, and

the courts do not follow penalty requirements.  Furthermore, citizens

don’t understand the law.

In 1997, the Utah Legislature tried to take away the financial incentive

for a Utah resident to register a car in another state.  The Legislature

increased the fine from $200 to $1,000 for a Utah resident to register a

car in another state.  However, enforcement of this law has been

inefficient, cumbersome, and confusing in its execution.  Utah Code 41-

1a-1303 (1) and (3) states:

(1)  Except as provided in Subsection (3) or Section 41-1a-211,

it is a class C misdemeanor for a person to drive or move,

or for an owner knowingly to permit to be driven or moved

upon any highway any vehicle of a type required to be

registered in this state:

(a) that is not registered or for which a certificate of title

has not been issued or applied for; or

(b) for which the required fee has not been paid.

(3)  (a) Beginning October 1, 1997, a violation of Subsection 41-

1a-202(3), related to registration of vehicles after establishing

residency, is a class B misdemeanor and except as provided in

Subsection (3)(b), has a minimum fine of $1,000.

(b) A court may not dismiss an action brought for a violation

of Subsection 41-1a-202(3) merely because the defendant has

obtained the appropriate registration subsequent to violating
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the section.  Beginning October 1, 1997, the court may,

however, reduce the fine to $200 if the violator presents

evidence at the time of his hearing that:

(i) the vehicle is currently registered properly; and     

(ii) the violation has not existed for more than

one year.

Utah Code Has Not Been Enforced by 
Law Enforcement or the Courts

Utah law enforcement agencies have not enforced Utah Code 41-1a-

1303(3).  Various law enforcement agencies enforce Utah’s registration

laws—the Utah Highway Patrol, local law enforcement officers, and the

Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (MVED), a small enforcement unit

within the Tax Commission.  Each of these agencies can use state codes or

local ordinance codes to cite drivers.  There is no central database showing

all citations; instead, each court handles those citations written within its

jurisdiction.  Figure 12 shows the number of registration citations filed

with several courts.

Figure 12.  Registration Violation Citations Filed in Selected
Utah Courts.  While registration violations have been filed with a

sample of Utah courts, very few citations have been written for being

illegally registered out-of-state.

Type of

Citation

Statewide

District

Court

Sandy

Justice

Court

South Salt

Lake Justice

Court

Salt Lake

County

Justice

Court

1998-2000 1998-2000 1998-2000 1997-2000

All registration

violations 

5659 5846 940 627

41-1a-1303(3)

Illegally

registered 

out-of-state

1 0 0 5

Although Utah Code 41-1a-1303(3) has been in place since October

1997, it has only been filed six times in the Statewide District Court and
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in the Sandy, South Salt Lake, and Salt Lake County Justice Courts.  Of

the five citations filed with Salt Lake County Justice Court for being

illegally registered out-of-state, all were eliminated, suspended or reduced. 

None paid the $1,000 fine.  All six citations were filed in 1998.  There

have not been any 41-1a-1303(3) citations filed with these courts in 1999

or 2000.  We believe that enforcement problems can be summarized into

three areas:

• Reluctance to Cite - Some law enforcement officers are reluctant

to cite a motorist for a vehicle registration violation that carries a

$1,000 fine.  The 1997 Legislature put the $1,000 fine into the

statute and increased the offense from a Class C to a Class B

misdemeanor.  Some law enforcement officers believe that a

$1,000 fine is out of line with the offense and, therefore, cite a

lesser offense such as expired registration which carries a $40

penalty.

• Failure to Cite Using Proper Codes - Even though the law has

been in place for four years, UHP does not have Utah Code 41-1a-

1303(3) as one of the offenses on their list of possible offenses. 

According to the UHP training officer, this was a mistake and they

will correct the problem.  In addition, some court clerks do not key

the full citation code, including subsection.  Another problem may

be that the information system does not allow for the full citation

code.

• Law is Unclear - Utah Registration laws confuse law enforcement

officers and the courts.  There is a section in the Utah Code that

lists the registration requirements, a section that offers definitions,

and a section that includes penalties.  Law enforcement cite under

all three of those sections.

The courts also play an important role in implementing this vehicle

registration law.  When an officer writes a citation for 41-1a-

1303(3), it needs to be recognized by the court as a more serious

violation with a $1,000 fine.  Some Justice Courts have no record

of 41-1a-1303(3) even being a possible citation code.  Thus, 41-

1a-1303(3) citations may be lumped together with other 41-1a-

1303 citations.  This lumping results in the $1,000 fine being

reduced to $40 and treated as a Class C misdemeanor instead of a

Class B misdemeanor.
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Citizens May Not Understand Registration Laws

Some citizens do not understand registration laws.  Often times new

residents apply for a Utah driver’s license but do not register their

vehicles.  For example, in a review of UHP citations written, several

motorists had Utah driver’s licenses and, therefore, had declared

residency, but they had not registered their vehicle in the state.  UHP

troopers cited these residents for various violations, such as speeding,

open container and plates to another vehicle, but they did not cite them

for out-of-state registration violations.

For example, a law enforcement officer stopped a resident driving a

newer vehicle with expired Idaho license plates.  The driver stated she had

been in the state of Utah for a year and knew that her Idaho registration

had expired six months previously.  She told the officer that her mother-

in-law was getting the car registered in Idaho and sending it down to her. 

The officer cited the driver for having an expired registration which carries

a $40 fine.  Since the driver has been living and working in the state of

Utah for a year the driver is considered a Utah resident, and the vehicle

should have been registered in Utah not Idaho.

The officer should have cited the driver with failure to register a

vehicle within 60 days of establishing residency which carries a $1,000

fine.  In 1997, the Legislature increased the fine from $200 to $1,000 to

take away the financial incentive to register out-of-state.  When the fine

was only $200, it was less expensive for people to register their car out-of-

state and take the chance of getting caught by law enforcement.

Recommendations:

1. We recommend that the Legislature consider clarifying and

simplifying the registration laws to make them easier for law

enforcement to enforce.

2. We recommend that UHP create a standardized set of questions

and train their officers how to detect illegally registered out-of-

state vehicles.

3. We recommend that UHP train officers on the appropriate citation

codes to use for out-of-state registration violations.
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4. We recommend that the Courts review data input processes and

ensure that information system programs allow similar but

different codes to be entered under unique code numbers.

5. We recommend that UHP and other law enforcement agencies

write the full citation code on the citation.

6. We recommend that court personnel be trained to key in the full

citation code including subsections.

7. We recommend that the court administer the appropriate fine

according to statute.
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Appendices
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Appendix A
Audit Methodology

The Unregistered Utah Vehicle Sample

The Office of the Legislative Auditor General’s review of unregistered vehicles is based

on a statistically valid sample of 882 vehicles.  In April 2001, 882 vehicles were surveyed as

they purchased gas at randomly selected gas stations to determine the percentage of out-of-

compliance registrations.  Gas stations were selected in seven counties that contained

85percent of the state’s population.  The key elements of the survey were

• A statistically valid sample population of passenger vehicles.

• A random selection of 86 sites in seven counties, most supplying ten vehicles.

• Gas stations as the collection site to ensure all vehicles within the counties had an

equal chance of selection.

• Only vehicles purchasing gas included as they arrived, with no exclusions.

• Observations taken at various times of the day.  

Sampled vehicle statistics were then compared with information maintained by the

Division of Motor Vehicles to determine a vehicle match and registration date.  Sampled

vehicles with insufficient information, licenses in transition, or DMV data field errors were

excluded from the study which reduced the sample population to approximately 860

vehicles.  Of the 860 vehicles, 802 vehicles (93.3 percent) had Utah plates and 58 vehicles

(6.7 percent) had out-of-state plates.

Calculation of Out-of-state Registrations

Identifying the number of Utah cars that are inappropriately registered in other states is

a difficult task.  Such vehicles cannot be identified by sight sampling, as above, but can only

truly be identified by in-depth law enforcement investigation.  We were, however, able to

estimate the number of out-of-state vehicles on Utah’s roads on any given day

(approximately 6.7 percent).  From this figure of 108,500, we estimated the number of

inappropriately registered vehicles by reduction, identifying valid vehicles and reducing the

total amount.  These reductions include
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• Out-of state students. 31,000 out-of-state students attend Utah’s colleges and

universities.   The majority of out-of-state students are

single.  We estimate 21,000 vehicles for these students

(31,000 students X 68% vehicle ownership*). 

• Military Personnel.  Utah has more than 16,500 residents working for the

military who, with spouses and dependents, are not

required to register their vehicles in Utah.  We estimate

35,000 vehicles for this population (16,500 personnel X

3.2 average family size X 68% vehicle ownership).

• Tourism. Utah’s Division of Travel Development estimates the

non-resident tourist traffic count by reviewing the

average daily traffic counts from the top 15 entry points

to Utah.  They estimate that on any given day there are

15,000 tourists in the state. (30,154,000 vehicles/2 for

one-way traffic X .37 non resident multiplier/365 days).

• In-migration.  IRS data identifies an in-migration to the state of

approximately 60,000 per year.  Each of these new

Utahns is allowed up to 60 days to register vehicles in

Utah.  We estimate 7,000 vehicles for this population

(60,000 X 68% /6).

* Vehicle ownership calculation = 1.5 million vehicle registrations/2.2 million total

population in the state.
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Appendix B
Registration Requirements

41-1a-201. Function of registration - Registration required.

Unless exempted, a person may not operate and an owner may not give another person

permission to operate a motor vehicle, combination of vehicles, trailer, semitrailer, vintage

vehicle, off-highway vehicle, or vessel in this state unless it has been registered in accordance

with this chapter, Title 41, Chapter 22, Off-Highway Vehicles, or Title 73, Chapter 18,

State Boating Act.

41-1a-202. Definitions - Vehicles exempt from registration - Registration of
vehicles after establishing residency.

(1)  In this section:

(a) "Domicile" means the place:

(i) where an individual has a fixed permanent home and principal establishment;

(ii) to which the individual if absent, intends to return; and

(iii) in which the individual and his family voluntarily reside, not for a special or

temporary purpose, but with the intention of making a permanent home.

(b) (i) "Resident" means any of the following:

(A) an individual who:

(I) has established a domicile in this state;

(II) regardless of domicile, remains in this state for an aggregate period of six

months or more during any calendar year;

(III) engages in a trade, profession, or occupation in this state or who accepts

employment in other than seasonal work in this state and who does not

commute into the state;

(IV) declares himself to be a resident of this state for the purpose of obtaining

a driver license or motor vehicle registration; or

(V) declares himself a resident of Utah to obtain privileges not ordinarily

extended to nonresidents, including going to school, or placing children in

school without paying nonresident tuition or fees;

(B) any individual, partnership, limited liability company, firm, corporation,

association, or other entity that:

(I) maintains a main office, branch office, or warehouse facility in this state

and that bases and operates a motor vehicle in this state; or
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(II) operates a motor vehicle in intrastate transportation for other than

seasonal work.

(ii) "Resident" does not include any of the following:

(A) a member of the military temporarily stationed in Utah; and

(B) an out-of-state student, as classified by the institution of higher education,

enrolled with the equivalent of seven or more quarter hours, regardless of

whether the student engages in a trade, profession, or occupation in this state or

accepts employment in this state.

(2)  Registration under this chapter is not required for any:

(a) vehicle registered in another state and owned by a nonresident of the state or

operating under a temporary registration permit issued by the division or a dealer

authorized by this chapter, driven or moved upon a highway in conformance with the

provisions of this chapter relating to manufacturers, transporters, dealers, lien holders,

or interstate vehicles;

(b) vehicle driven or moved upon a highway only for the purpose of crossing the

highway from one property to another;

(c) implement of husbandry, whether of a type otherwise subject to registration or not,

that is only incidentally operated or moved upon a highway;

(d) special mobile equipment;

(e) vehicle owned or leased by the federal government;

(f) motor vehicle not designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of passengers

for hire or for the transportation of property if the motor vehicle is registered in another

state and is owned and operated by a nonresident of this state;

(g) vehicle or combination of vehicles designed, used, or maintained for the

transportation of persons for hire or for the transportation of property if the vehicle or

combination of vehicles is registered in another state and is owned and operated by a

nonresident of this state and if the vehicle or combination of vehicles has a gross laden

weight of 26,000 pounds or less;

(h) trailer of 750 pounds or less unladen weight and not designed, used, and maintained

for hire for the transportation of property or person;

(i) manufactured home or mobile home;

(j) off-highway vehicle currently registered under Section 41-22-3 if the off-highway

vehicle is:

(i) being towed;

(ii) operated on a street or highway designated as open to off-highway vehicle use;

or

(iii) operated in the manner prescribed in Section 41-22-10.3;

(k) off-highway implement of husbandry operated in the manner prescribed in

Subsections 41-22-5.5(3) through (5);
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(l) modular and pre-built homes conforming to the uniform building code and presently

regulated by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development that

are not constructed on a permanent chassis;

(m) electric assisted bicycles defined under Section 41-6-1; or

(n) motor assisted scooters defined under Section 41-6-1.

(3)  Unless otherwise exempted under Subsection (2), registration under this chapter is

required for any motor vehicle, combination of vehicles, trailer, semitrailer, or vintage

vehicle within 60 days of the owner establishing residency in this state.

(4)  A motor vehicle that is registered under Section 41-3-306 is exempt from the

registration requirements of this part for the time period that the registration under Section

41-3-306 is valid.
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Agency Response
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October 11, 2001

Mr. Wayne Welch, Legislative Auditor
Mr. Tim Osterstock, Audit Manager
Ms. Maria Stahla, Audit Supervisor
Mr. Aaron Eliason, Audit Staff
Utah Legislative Auditor’s Office
Salt Lake City, Utah

Re:  Performance Audit
Unregistered Passenger Vehicles in Utah

Thank you for the opportunity to review the draft Performance Audit of Unregistered
Passenger Vehicles in Utah.  This audit report encompasses a great deal of work on
behalf of your audit staff; we believe the information and recommendations in this report
have been carefully documented.  We also commend the professionalism of your staff
who have worked on this report.

We agree with the findings and recommendations presented in the report as they
relate to the work done by the Division of Motor Vehicles.  We are also committed to
working with legislators, as well as law enforcement officials and other entities to
implement all recommendations that are accepted as a result of this report.  We recognize
that our responsibilities to administer the motor vehicle laws must be done in conjunction
and cooperation with those entities that enforce the motor vehicle laws.

Sincerely,

Rodney G. Marrelli
Executive Director


